Author Topic: Simple Green All Purpose Cleaner  (Read 2272 times)

Offline Golly

• Auto Obsessed
  • Carma: +12/-10
    • View Profile
  • Cars: 05 Miata, 16 Malibu Premier, 19 Buick Enclave Avenir
Simple Green All Purpose Cleaner
« on: August 28, 2018, 09:17:09 pm »
Okay, so I got tired of looking at a blank thread, so here’s my review of a product that I’ve been using for almost 20 years:  Simple Green All Purpose Cleaner.
Back then, I first bought SG to clean the engine and engine compartment.  On a cool engine, liberally spray SG all over the engine and compartment and then hose off with a garden hose with no scrubbing and it will come out 95% clean unless it is really grimy.  Then I blow dry with my leaf blower and let it sit for a couple hours for complete drying.  I do this once a year and in the 20 years of use, I’ve never had any issue with this cleaning process screwing up any electronic or mechanical components even though I take no precaution to cover up electronics etc. (and I keep my cars a minimum of 10 years). YMMV.

On cars I’ve used SG to also clean tires rims, black plastic cladding, upholstery, carpets, rubber mats, interior plastics etc and it leaves a fresh smell.  It’s also great for taking bugs off.

Around the house I’ve used SG to clean floors, bathroom fans and grills, appliances, BBQ, venetian blinds, bikes and degreasing oil spills on the driveway.

I usually buy the 3.78 liter jug and a jug lasts me around 3 years.  It’s available at Canadian Tire for $17.99 and I’m sure it’s available elsewhere.  SG also comes in different variants for pressure washers for cleaning wood, siding, heavy duty, pro heavy duty, concrete cleaner, carpet cleaner, tub and tile, glass etc.  I’ve used only the All Purpose.  I always have on hand a spray bottle with full strength SG and another spray bottle with diluted SG for spot cleaning.