Author Topic: Cheap GPS recommendations?  (Read 14806 times)

Offline johngenx

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +758/-938
    • View Profile
  • Cars: 2009 Toyota Corolla, 2004 Toyota Highlander V-6 4WD, 2001 Subaru Forester, 1994 Mazda Miata
Re: Cheap GPS recommendations?
« Reply #60 on: March 03, 2013, 03:11:36 pm »
I'm a little surprised that the Garmin units have problems.  I've been using Garmin handheld and watch GPS for many years and found them to be of very high quality.

Offline Travel360

• Enthusiast
  • Carma: +5/-3
    • View Profile
« Reply #61 on: March 03, 2013, 03:14:16 pm »
I'm still using the c330, it just wouldn't die!

Offline rrocket

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +1254/-7214
    • View Profile
« Reply #62 on: March 03, 2013, 03:18:10 pm »
I'm a little surprised that the Garmin units have problems.  I've been using Garmin handheld and watch GPS for many years and found them to be of very high quality.

Same here.
How fast is my 911?  Supras sh*t on on me all the time...in reverse..with blown turbos  :( ...

Offline Travel360

• Enthusiast
  • Carma: +5/-3
    • View Profile
« Reply #63 on: March 03, 2013, 03:24:09 pm »
And her voice is as good as day one! ;)

Offline EV Dan

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +480/-383
    • View Profile
  • Cars: '21 Venzaurus
« Reply #64 on: March 03, 2013, 03:46:23 pm »
I still would like my car GPS be a stand-alone device. I'm using the latest TomTom with free traffic and map updates. One thing I don't like when compared to Garmin's most expensive unit is Tom's screen resolution, and it was slow at first but that was fixed with the later software updates. I'm very satisfied with the routing quality. Also it powers up automatically once I turn the ignition key, very useful and convenient.
Give a man a fish, he eats for a day. Teach the man to fish and he wakes you up at 5 in the morning.

Offline toolatecrew

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +16/-25
    • View Profile