Author Topic: Motoring Memories: John DeLorean, 1925-2005  (Read 7156 times)

Offline Autos_Editor

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +91/-560
    • View Profile
Motoring Memories: John DeLorean, 1925-2005
« on: October 01, 2010, 04:03:19 am »

John DeLorean's life "should have been the grand realization of the American Dream," says Bill Vance. His meteoric rise to group vice-president at General Motors was followed by his failed DeLorean sports car, his arrest for cocaine trafficking, and personal bankruptcy.

Read More...

Offline Whofan

• Learner's Permit
  • Carma: +4/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Motoring Memories: John DeLorean, 1925-2005
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2010, 08:04:12 am »
I was a student, I was saving money to buy a DeLorean, then the movie came out..... :(

Offline Shnak

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +8/-49
  • New toy! :)
    • View Profile
  • Cars: 2010 Hyundai Sonata Limited, 2006 Kia Sportage
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2010, 08:15:36 am »
I was a student, I was saving money to buy a DeLorean, then the movie came out..... :(

I don't understand how the movie would make you NOT want a DeLorean? It was the coolest thing ever!!

Offline Erik

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +60/-374
    • View Profile
  • Cars: 2000 Honda Insight
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2010, 10:07:00 am »
Certainly an interesting character and a good car guy. A little more luck in his launch timing of his car and things could have been different. I remember awaiting production of the twin turbo version that was about to be launched. Would have been a heck of a car.
"The car is the closest thing we will ever create to something that is alive." - Sir William Lyons

Offline TopGun

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +43/-165
  • Carbon fibre > Soft touch dash material
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2010, 10:16:34 am »
Certainly an interesting character and a good car guy.

Got that right...marched to his own drum beat...