Author Topic: Why there is such a discrepancy in tow ratings between NA and Europe?  (Read 2043 times)

Offline Mike-NB

• Learner's Permit
  • Carma: +5/-2
    • View Profile
There is a reason I’m asking this question. It isn’t just theoretical. My wife has a 2014 Ford Escape with the 2.0L EcoBoost engine. Here in North America it is rated to tow 3500 pounds. We have a small single-axle travel trailer with a dry weight of approximately 2700 pounds. When we load up with a full tank of fuel, two adults, two cocker spaniels, food and water we are probably right at the maximum capacity if not over it by a couple of hundred pounds. I’m not an engineer so towing at or slightly over capacity makes me uncomfortable. But I know a lot of engineers and I’ve asked each of them who just roll their eyes and say that if the vehicle is rated at 3500 pounds then it’s likely been tested to substantially more.

That got me thinking about tow ratings in Europe.

I randomly picked the VW Golf. Here in Canada it has a tow rating of 1000 pounds while in Europe a similarly-equipped Golf has a tow rating of 3100 pounds. If anything, the European Golf has a less powerful engine.

It then occurred to me that the Ford Escape is available in Europe as the Ford Kuga. A search of the European tow ratings on that vehicle reveals that there is a wide variety of powertrains available there but that most Kugas have a towing capacity of approximately 4100 pounds though there are some that can tow as much as 4400 pounds. There are models in Europe that are equipped to tow 4100 pounds that have less horsepower and torque then the North American model. Apart from powertrains I don’t think that there aren’t any significant differences between the North American Escape in the European Kuga.

So why is there such a discrepancy between North American tow ratings and European tow ratings?