Author Topic: Book value  (Read 33098 times)

Barrie1

Book value
« Reply #20 on: November 07, 2004, 09:31:30 pm »
Pops, Neil is in the Automotive Business Full time and one of our resident Experts as well.  

Offline neil

• Drunk on Fuel
  • Carma: +20/-68
    • View Profile
Book value
« Reply #21 on: November 08, 2004, 11:38:33 am »
Hi Pops, I am a finance manager at a dealership on the prairies.  So my experience is part sales side and part bank side.

Just to clarify what I said above, cars out west are generally worth more than easter(n) bunnies, they tend to look better and require less R and R to resell.  But dealers out west don't generally allow for the geographical premium the book publishes.  One primary reason is the banking industry, which (with few exceptions) doesn't allow for it either.  Often the loan to value needs to stay under 170% of CBB, without allowance of the geographical premium.  Many lenders require Capitalized cost to stay under 125% of CBB.

Now Pops, as to your question of rule of thumb, I'd have to say no.  Reason being every used vehicle is different. Assume there are two virtually identical units.  The dealers paid the same to aquire them, but one required an extra $1500 dollars to recondition for resale.  It is impractical to expect to recover the $1500 on the retail market, why would someone pay $1500 more retail for the same truck they could buy across the street for less?  To be competitive, the prices would have to be competitive.  If they both sold for the same price, the dealer who needed to spend more on the unit would realize a reduced profit.  Dealer (a) may have realized a 30% premium over book, but dealer (b) only 10%.