Author Topic: Backing News: Compulsory Cameras are Here  (Read 8827 times)

Offline rrocket

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +1254/-7214
    • View Profile
Re: Backing News: Compulsory Cameras are Here
« Reply #60 on: May 07, 2018, 08:24:54 pm »

You can be a good driver but still make mistakes. That's why we have safety belts and airbags. I would imagine when safety belts became mandatory, people are probably saying "Oh, I am a good driver, I don't need those."

It's the other drivers I'm worried about.  And a seat belt will save my life.

A backup camera?  Not so much.
How fast is my 911?  Supras sh*t on on me all the time...in reverse..with blown turbos  :( ...

Offline UnknownJinX

• Drunk on Fuel
  • Carma: +22/-115
    • View Profile
  • Cars: 19 Camaro 2SS 1LE 6MT, 15 Corvette Z51 7MT(flooded), 09 Mazda RX-8 GT 6MT(sold)
« Reply #61 on: May 07, 2018, 08:33:23 pm »

You can be a good driver but still make mistakes. That's why we have safety belts and airbags. I would imagine when safety belts became mandatory, people are probably saying "Oh, I am a good driver, I don't need those."

I personally haven't happened it to me, but my former boss backed into a kid in his truck. Didn't hit the kid hard so he wasn't even aware of it. The worst thing is, he went off the next day to the army, and he only knew about it when he came back 5 years later.

So I personally support it because situations like this. Again, cheaper than a potential medical bill or a lawsuit.

Another thing it will help is when your garage barely has enough room for your car. My RX-8 barely fits in the garage, and the sensors really help me park in that sweetspot. I know some people use sock balls, but it's not always possible to find a good spot to hang one.

Offline OliverD

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +255/-775
    • View Profile
  • Cars: 2011 BMW 328i Touring, 1998 Jaguar XJR, 2024 Mini Cooper S
« Reply #62 on: May 07, 2018, 09:31:49 pm »

It could save someone else's life though.